Master of Fine Arts

Program introduction

  • Duration of study

    The normal duration of this course is 2 year,and the maximum duration is 3 years.

  • Teaching approach

    Face-to-face Teaching

  • Teaching language

    Chinese/English

  • Academic field

    Fine Arts

  • Course Introduction

    Major: 1. Painting Practice and Theory 2. History of Fine Arts

Study plan

Table 1: Core courses (9 credits)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAZ01

Research Methods in Fine Arts

3

MAAZ02

History of Fine Arts

3

MAAZ03

Special Topics in Culture

3

 

 

Table 2: Major courses (3 credits)

Major: Painting Practice and Theory

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAE03

Painting Practice

3

Major: History of Fine Arts

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAE02

Special Topics in Art History Theory

3

The University has the ultimate right to decide which course or whether the course will be opened for all Major subjects.

 

 

Table 3: Elective Courses (3 credits)

Major: Painting Practice and Theory (Complete 1 course from below)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAE01

Special Topics in Arts

MAAE02

Special Topics in Art History Theory

3

Major: History of Fine Arts (Complete 1 course from below)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAE01

Special Topics in Arts

MAAE03

Painting Practice

3

 

 

Table 4: Others (4 credits)

Major: Painting Practice and Theory

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAZ04

Academic Activities

1

MAAZ05

Social Practice in Arts

3

Major: History of Fine Arts

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAZ04

Academic Activities

1

MAAZ07

Internship

3

 

 

Table 5: Graduation Project and Thesis (9 credits)

Major: Painting Practice and Theory

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAZ06

Graduation Project

3

MAAZ00

Thesis

6

Major: History of Fine Arts

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

MAAZ10

Thesis

9

 


Course Description

Majors

1. Painting practice and theory

2. History of fine arts

I. Core Courses

Research Methods in Fine Arts (3 credits)

As a fundamental and core course in fine arts studies, this course elaborates systematically on the objectives, genres, and methods in the field. It also introduces the formats and key points in thesis writing. It takes into account the approaches in social sciences, as well as those in fine arts in particular, with an emphasis on the combination of theory and practice.

History of Fine Arts (3 credits)

The course focuses on the development and style changing of Chinese and Foreign art history, and the impact of politics, economy, and culture upon the development of fine arts. The teaching content involves ancient Chinese art, modern Chinese fine arts, Chinese folk arts, the interaction between Western and Eastern fine arts, ancient Western fine arts, modern and contemporary Western fine arts, and the cultural legacy and archaeology in fine arts.

Special Topics in Culture (3 credits)

In terms of Archaeology and Communication Studies under the perspective of humanities, the course will introduce the deep connections between arts and social science reflected in special topics. Undertaking this course, students will understand the correlation between culture and art that broaden insights on the study of art history.

Academic Activities (1 credit)

Students are required to participate in at least ten academic activities that are recognized by the Faculty of Humanities and Arts, such as lectures, seminars, or visits organized by the University. After each activity, students are required to submit a one-page (A4)-length report, marked by the designated adviser or tutor. The course aims to improve the comprehensive quality of students, broaden their academic horizons, and cultivate their creative thinking abilities.

II. Major Core Courses and Elective Courses

Special Topics in Arts3 credits

Through the lens of Art reflected in special topics, the course discusses and descripts the research methodology or study subject in art. It introduces art phenomenon and history path through various theories, such as: Iconology/Iconography, Art History, Religious Iconography, Visual Psychology, etc.

Special Topics in Art History Theory3 credits

This course introduces the origins, evolutions, attributes and genres of art and puts an emphasis on the relationships between art and culture. It aims to improve the art literacy of students and cultivate their cultural awareness and sensitivity.

For students majoring in History of Fine Arts, the learning expectation as well as assessment is relatively higher, which require the students to have extensive readings in relevant to research direction that needs to have unique insight at end. For students majoring in Painting Practice and Theory, they need to understand the basic pattern of art development and ways of various artistic expressions and be able to apply the knowledge in art practice.

Painting Practice (3 credits)

The course mainly introduces classic paintings and artists’ practice methods, technique skills and creation rule. Under the guide of lecturers during study period, students can comprehend basic theories in creative practice and acquire a level of creation rule and painting techniques.

For students majoring in Painting Practice and Theory, the learning expectation as well as assessment is relatively higher, which focuses on various techniques and styles of painting. Students need to further determine their own painting style and research direction one wants to pursue. For students majoring in History of Fine Arts, they are expected to acquire basic skills of painting and variations so to conduct innovative art practice.

Social Practice in Arts / Internship (3 credits)

The social practices/internship in arts is an important part of the master program in fine arts. The social practice/internship is a way of reinforcing theory studies, as well as a preparation process for students to get ready for their final project and thesis writing.

Graduation Project (6 credits)

Students majoring in Painting Practice and Theory are required to complete graduation project themed on a particular topic. The project shall be a holistic display of a combination between theoretical understanding and creative practice in which the project reflects everyday life with focus on history. It shall be visually presented and comprehensively and systematically demonstrated to one’s study achievement in the past two years.

Thesis (6 credits)

Students who apply for graduation are required to complete a master’s thesis and pass the thesis defense. The thesis should be an original body of work that contributes to a particular problem in fine arts. It should articulate the research questions, methodologies and primary arguments. For students majoring in Painting Practice and Theory, the minimum length of the thesis should be 15,000 words in Chinese, not including footnotes, graphs, tables, reference list, and appendices. For students majoring in History of Fine Arts, the minimum length of the thesis should be 20,000 words in Chinese, not including footnotes, figures, graphs, tables, reference list, and appendices.

Degree requirements

1. Painting Practice and Theory 1.1 Students are required to complete three core courses in Table 1, one major course in Table 2, one elective course in Table 3, academic activities (ten times of attendance) and social practice in arts in Table 4, Graduation Project in Table 5 to gain 22 credits. 1.2 After finishing each course, students will be assessed based on regulations established by the instructor and the Faculty. 1.3. Students are required to complete an original research master’s thesis in no less than 15,000 words and pass the thesis oral defense. 2. History of Fine Arts 2.1 Students are required to complete three core courses in Table 1, one major course in Table 2, one elective course in Table 3, academic activities(ten times of attendance) and Internship in Table 4 to gain 19 credits. 2.2 After finishing each course, students will be assessed based on regulations established by the instructor and the Faculty. 2.3 Students are required to complete an original research master’s thesis in no less than 20,000 words and pass the thesis oral defense.

Learning time

1、The duration for taking all courses is 18 months and the duration for thesis writing is 6 months. 2、Classes will generally be scheduled from Monday to Sunday, daytime or at night.

Qualifications of graduation

Upon approval from the Senate of the University, a Master’s Degree will be conferred on a student when he or she has: 1、Completed and met the requirements prescribed in the study plan of his or her program within the specific study period, and achieved a cumulative GPA of 2.50 or above (excluding thesis) 2、Abided by the regulations of the University 3、Cleared all fees and charges and returned all University’sproperty and equipment borrowed If students pass all courses required in Table 1, 2, 3, 4 and Graduation Project* in Table 5 above with a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or above, but fail to submit or pass the final thesis oral defense during the specified period, he/she can only get a completion certificate. * Applicable to Painting Practice and Theory only. Note: All curriculums and study plans are based on the newest announcement of the Boletim Oficial da Região Administrativa Especial de Macau.

美术学硕士

课程简介

  • 课程期限

    本课程正常修业期限为2,最长修业期限为3年。

  • 授课方式

    面授课程

  • 授课语言

    中文/英文

  • 学术领域 / 知识范畴

    艺术学/美术学

  • 课程介绍

    专业: 1.绘画创作实践与理论 2.美术史研究

学习计划

表(一):基础必修科目 (9学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAZ01

美术学研究方法

3

MAAZ02

美术史

3

MAAZ03

文化专题

3

 

 

表(二):专业范畴科目 (3学分)

绘画创作实践与理论专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAE03

绘画创作实践

3

美术史研究专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAE02

艺术史理论专题

3

注:大学有权取消开办修读人数不足之专业范畴科目

 

 

表(三):选修科目 (3学分)

绘画创作实践与理论专业(从下列两门科目中修读一门)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAE01

艺术专题

3

MAAE02

艺术史理论专题

3

美术史研究专业(从下列两门科目中修读一门)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAE01

艺术专题

3

MAAE03

绘画创作实践

3

 

 

表(四):其他 (4学分)

绘画创作实践与理论专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAZ04

学术活动

1

MAAZ05

艺术社会实践

3

美术史研究专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAZ04

学术活动

1

MAAZ07

实习

3

 

 

表(五):毕业创作及论文 (9学分)

绘画创作实践与理论专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAZ06

毕业创作

3

MAAZ00

论文

6

美术史研究专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

MAAZ10

论文

9

 


科目简介

专业方向:

1、绘画创作实践与理论

2、美术史研究

一、必修科目简介:

美术学研究方法(3学分)

“美术学研究方法”是美术研究的基础和核心科目,对美术学研究的目标、类型、方法、流程及论文的写作格式与要点进行系统的阐述,同时兼顾了社会科学研究方法和美术学的研究方法,强调理论与实践相结合。

美术史(3学分)

该科目关注中外美术发展史和风格演变史,以及政治、经济和文化对美术发展的影响等。讲授内容涉及中国古代画论、中国近现代美术史、中国民间美术史、东西方美术交流与比较、西方古代美术史、西方现当代美术史、文化遗产与美术考古等。

文化专题(3学分)

该科目在人文学科的视角下,讲授考古学、美术人类学、传播学等理论,以专题的形式介绍艺术与社会科学的深层联系。通过该科目的学习,学生了解文化与艺术的关係,拓展美术史研究的视野。

学术活动(1学分)

学生必须参与至少十次由学院认可的学术活动,如学校组织的讲座、研讨会、参观等。每次活动后,学生需提交一页纸(A4)长度的活动报告,并由指定导师批阅。该科目旨在培养学生的综合素质,开拓他们的学术视野,并培养他们的创新思维。

二、专业必修/选修科目简介:

艺术专题(3学分)

该科目在艺术学的视角下,採用专题的形式,对艺术学的研究方法或者研究对象进行讨论和讲述。如图像学、美术史学、宗教圣像学、视觉心理学等多种理论来源,介绍艺术现象及发展路径。

艺术史理论专题(3学分)

该科目将介绍艺术的起源、演进、特质与类型,重点是阐释艺术与文化的密切关係。目的在于提升学生的艺术素养,并培养他们的文化底蕴。

对于专业必修课学生(美术史研究),教学和评审要求相对较高,对相关的专业著作进行扩展性阅读学习,必须结合自己的研究方向有独到的见解。

对于专业选修课学生(绘画创作实践与理论),教学与评审要求了解艺术发展的基本规律,艺术的表现形式,指导自己的绘画创作。

绘画创作实践(3学分)

该科目主要介绍经典绘画作品及艺术家的创作实践、创作技法及创作规律。通过老师的指导,课堂的学习,学生能够瞭解艺术创作的基础性理论,掌握一定的艺术创作规律和绘画技法。

对于专业必修课学生(绘画创作实践与理论),教学和评审要求相对较高,著重于绘画种类的技法和风格,确定自己的绘画风格和研究方向。

对于专业选修课学生(美术史研究),教学与评审要求基本掌握绘画种类的特点与技法,并进行有创意的创作。

艺术社会实践/ 实习(3学分)

艺术社会实践/实习是美术学硕士课程人才培养的重要环节,它既是理论学习的检验方式,也是硕士研究生毕业创作和学位论文的准备过程。

毕业创作(6学分)

申请毕业的学生(绘画创作实践与理论)须完成毕业创作,该创作要围绕具体的课题。是理论知识和实践结合的一个完整体现,毕业创作作品能够体现现实生活,关注历史题材,以视觉化的方式全面地、系统地呈现两年的学习成果。

论文(6学分)

申请毕业的学生须提交硕士学位论文并通过论文答辩。学位论文必须是对美术学领域某一问题的原创性研究,应该完整地呈现主要研究问题、研究方法及重要结论。“绘画创作实践与理论”专业学生须撰写一篇不少于1.5万字的学位论文。“美术史研究”专业学生须撰写一篇不少于2万字的学位论文 (注脚、图表、参考文献、附录除外)。

学习要求

1. 绘画创作实践与理论专业范畴 1.1 修读完成学习计划规定的表(一)中的3门基础必修科目、表(二)中的1门专业范畴科目、表(三)中的1门选修科目、表(四)中的不少于十次的学术活动、艺术社会实践,以及表(五)中的毕业创作,共计22学分。 1.2 学生在每门科目上课结束后,按科目的要求,进行考核,其考核方式按授课老师及学院的规定进行。 1.3 撰写一篇符合学校要求且不少于1.5万字的原创论文并进行论文答辩,硕士学位论文必须通过评审及论文答辩。 2. 美术史研究专业范畴 2.1 修读完成学习计划规定的表(一)中的3门基础必修科目、表(二)中的1门专业范畴科目、表(三)中的1门选修科目、表(四)中的不少于十次的学术活动、以及实习,共计19学分。 2.2 学生在每门科目上课结束后,按科目的要求,进行考核,其考核方式按授课老师及学院的规定进行。 2.3 撰写一篇符合学校要求且不少于2万字的原创论文并进行论文答辩,硕士学位论文必须通过评审及论文答辩。

学习时间

科目修读时间为18个月,论文写作时间为6个月。 课堂一般安排在星期一至星期五日间、晚间或周末上课。

毕业资格

学生须符合下列各项规定,并经大学学术及教学委员会通过可获颁发硕士学位: 1、在所属课程之修业期内完成及通过学习计划的要求,各科目成绩(不含学位论文成绩)累计平均积点不低于2.50; 2、遵守大学的修读守则; 3、缴清指定费用及归还所借的大学财物。 如学生及格完成上述课程设置表(一)至表(四)的科目,以及表(五)的毕业创作*,累计平均积点不低于2.50,但不在规定期限内通过论文答辩,则只可取得结业证书。 *绘画创作实践与理论专业范畴适用 备注:所有课程大纲及学习计划,按澳门特别行政区公报所载为准。