Doctor of Philosophy in Architecture

Program introduction

  • Duration of study

    The normal duration of this course is 3 year,and the maximum duration is 6 years.

  • Teaching approach

    Face-to-face Teaching

  • Teaching language

    Chinese/English

  • Academic field

    Architecture

  • Course Introduction

    Remark: According to the relevant laws and regulations of the Macau SAR Government, in order to obtain professional titles such as architects, engineers or urban planners, relevant applicants must meet the academic requirements stated in relevant laws, and be registered with the CAEU (Conselho de Arquitectura, Engenharia e Urbanismo) for qualication recognition and pass related examinations.

Study plan

This program includes two core courses, one major courses, one elective courses, academic activities, professional internship, graduation design project and doctoral dissertation.

 

Table 1: Core courses (6 credits)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

Remark

DATZ01

Advanced Design Research Methodology

3

Complete during the first and second semesters

DATZ02

Special Topics in Architecture

3

 

 

Table 2: Major courses (3 credits)

Major: Urban Design and Regeneration

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

Remark

DATZ03

History of Urban and Architectural Development

3

Complete within Semester 1

Major: Sustainable Architecture Design

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

DATZ04

Special Topics in Sustainable Architecture Design

3

The University has the ultimate right to decide which course or whether the course will be opened for all elective subjects

 

 

Table 3: Elective courses (3 credits)

Select one elective course from the following three courses

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

Remark

DATE01

Research on Modern Green Architectural Design and Methodology

3

Complete within Semester 2

DATE02

Research on Architectural and Cultural Heritage Conservation

3

DATE03

Research on Planning and Design for Industry Development

3

 

 

Table 4: Others (7 credit)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

Remark

DATZ05

Academic Activities (ten times of attendance)

1

Complete during the first to four semesters

DATZ06

Professional Internship

6

Complete during the second and third semesters

 

 

Table 5: Graduation Design Project and Thesis (18 credits)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

DATZ07

Graduation Design Project

6

DATZ10

Thesis

12

 


Course Description

Advanced Design Research Methodology (3 credits

Teaching advanced qualitative research methods: the western classical theory, main research orientation, specific research methods, textual construction and application of textual analysis. To understand the trend of qualitative research methods, advanced methodology; To be familiar with the research process of qualitative research methods; To learn the specific investigation, analysis and text construction of advanced qualitative research, especially the qualitative research characteristics of architecture.

Special Topics on Architecture (3 credits

The course includes the functions and structures of urban and rural planning; Research topics on habitable cities; The globalization of Asian cities; theory, methods and criticisms on Community construction; Urban renewal and regeneration; Urban issues on leisure and tourism; the systems and regulations of the spacial planning systems and laws.

History of Urban and Architectural Development (3 credits) 

The course focuses on the systematical learning on the origins and developments of architecture and city from the perspective of architectural history and humanities,  including: prehistoric buildings and cities, city protype of Mesopotamia, the ancient Egyptian buildings and cities, the cities of ancient Greek and Rome, architecture and commercial cities of medieval Christianity and Baroque times, architecture and cities of modern and contemporary times. Study the history of architecture and urban development comprehensively from the aspects of politics, economy, culture, religion, society and urban planning, and put forward strategic suggestions for the future urban development.

Special Topics on Sustainable Architecture Design (3 credits

Be familiar with the core values of the sustainable environment; To Introduce the present design of sustainable buildings; To think deeply about the fundamental relationship between the reproduction of human life and the environment.

Research on Modern Green Architectural Design and Methodology (3 credits

This course is mainly based on the concepts of green building, green building materials, sustainable design, and supplemented by the fundamental theory constructions of general design, barrier-free space design, ergonomics and valuation. By the introduction of theoretical instruction, case study, classroom discussions, the course is to guide the students to have deep understanding and interests of the macroscopic environments, microscopic environmental changes and sustainable constructions of urban environments. Based on the concepts of green and sustainable, new concepts is to be constructed, such as reuse of building materials, restoration of the essence of architectural creation.

Research on Architectural and Cultural Heritage Conservation (3 credits) 

The purpose of preserving historic buildings is to reveal the life history of the ancestors and their achievements in art, culture and technology, so as to learn from the past and inspire the present day. However, influenced and destroyed by natural and human factors, the life cycles of historic buildings is often shorter than expected. In order to achieve the goal of long-term preservation of historic buildings, it is necessary to rely on the wisdom of people to turn the crisis into a turning point by scientific and minimal intervention methods,which may be continuously destroying or even could  disappear. The restoration of historic buildings is the diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation to enable sustainable operation of historic buildings, so as to adapt to the different physical conditions and diverse activities. Furthermore, it is to synchronize with modern life and co-exist with modern environment. Through the introduction of cases of restoration, this course enables students to discuss the existence of problems and solutions from a practical perspective. Cooperated with cases and comparisons at home and abroad, a complete concept of preservation and maintenance of historic sites will be established in a short time.

Research on Planning and Design for Industry Development (3 credits) 

This course is not positioned to discuss how to plan and operate the culture and creative industry, but focus on the following issues: (1) how to understand and analyze the emergence of cultural creativity industry and positioning by mastering a broader social contexts (cultural economy, governance, social and cultural transformation. In short, the rise of cultural strategy under the capital accumulation of the global competition and economic crisis); (2) how the cultural and creative industry is constituted and operated (cultural labor or work characteristics, core elements, organizational characteristics, etc.); And (3) the relationship between the cultural and creative industries and the urban and local developments.

Academic Activities (1 credits

Students are required to participate in no less than ten academic activities approved by the faculty, such as lectures, seminars, visits, etc organized by the university. After each activity, students are required to submit a one-page (A4) activity report which will be reviewed by the designated tutor. The subject aims to cultivate students' comprehensive quality, broaden their academic horizon and cultivate their innovative thinking.

Professional Internship (6 credits)

The internship course aims to improve the teaching quality, cultivate students' practical ability and innovative spirit, enabling students to enter the field of social practice in advance. To enhance their understanding of the knowledge and professional knowledge, cultivate and improve students' practical skills of self-discovery, analysis and problem solving.

Graduation Design Project (6 credits)

The course is a practice course with the theoretical guidance, which enables students to comprehensively apply the theoretical knowledge learned in the university. Based on the  theoretical level, the project is to be designed and completed. It is a systematic and comprehensive training of design project.

Thesis (12 credits

The candidates must submit a doctoral dissertation (no less than 40,000 words, excluding footnotes, chapter notes and references) and attend an oral defence. The candidates must obey the university's requirements of the format to write the doctoral dissertation.

Degree requirements

1.Student is required to complete two core coursesfrom Table 1, one major course from Table 2 and one elective course from Table 3 during the first 2 semesters to gain 12 credits. 2.Student is required to complete Academic Activities (ten times of attendance), Professional Internship from Table 4 and Graduation Design Project from Table 5 during the duration of study to gain 13 credits. 3.Student can only submit his/her thesis title for confirmation upon the completion of the aforementioned 12 credits under Table 1 to 3. The minimum word count for the thesis is 40,000. The overall process should follow the thesis composition flow established by the faculty. 4.After finishing each course, the student will be assessed based on regulations established by the instructor and the Faculty. 5.Student who completes all the required courses, student can start writing the thesis proposal. Student can continue their dissertation research and writing upon completion of thesis proposal defense, besides the thesis, they are also required to start the design work. 6.Student is required to publish at least one first-level academic work or architectural design work, or at least two second-level academic works or architectural design work. The works will be evaluated and approved by the Faculty of Humanities and Art at Macau University of Science and Technology. Please refer to A Guidance for Publication Assessment for the Doctoral Students of the Faculty of Humanities and Arts for details.

Learning time

The duration for taking all courses is 12 months. No less than 12 months of thesis composition and graduation design project , up to 24 months. Classes will generally be scheduled from Monday to Sunday, daytime or at nights.

Qualifications of graduation

Upon approval from the Senate of the University, a Doctoral Degree will be conferred on a student when he or she has: completed and met the requirements prescribed in the study plan of his or her program within the specific study period, and achieved a cumulative GPA of 2.50 or above (excluding dissertation); and abided by the regulations of the University; and cleared all fees and charges and returned all University’sproperty and equipment borrowed. Note: All curriculums and study plans are based on the newest announcement of the Boletim Oficial da Região Administrativa Especial de Macau. ※In case of any discrepancy, the Chinese version shall prevail.

建筑学博士

课程简介

  • 课程期限

    本课程正常修业期限为3,最长修业期限为6年。

  • 授课方式

    面授课程

  • 授课语言

    中文/英文

  • 学术领域 / 知识范畴

    建筑学

  • 课程介绍

    注1:根据澳门特区政府相关法律规定,为取得建筑师、工程师或城市规划师等专业职衔,必须符合相关法律的学历要求,并经由澳门建筑、工程及城市规划专业委员会的登记进行资格认可和考试。

学习计划

本课程包括2门基础必修科目、1门专业必修科目、1门选修科目、专业实习、毕业设计、学术专题项目及一篇博士学位论文。

 

()基础必修科目 (6学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

备注

DATZ01

设计研究方法高阶

3

第一、二学期修读完成

DATZ02

建筑学专题

3

 

 

()专业必修科目 (3学分)

都市设计与更新改造专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

备注

DATZ03

都市与建筑发展史

3

第一学期修读完成

建筑可持续设计专业

科目编号

科目名称

学分

DATZ04

建筑可持续设计专题

3

注:大学有权取消开办修读人数不足之专业范畴科目

 

 

()选修科目(从以下三门中选修一门,3学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

备注

DATE01

当代建筑绿色设计与方法研究

3

第二学期修读完成

DATE02

建筑与文化遗产保护研究

3

DATE03

产业发展规划与设计理论研究

3

 

 

()其他非授课科目 (7学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

备注

DATZ05

学术专题项目 (须参加不少于10次学术活动)

1

第一至四学期修读完成

DATZ06

专业实习

6

第二、三学期修读完成

 

 

()毕业设计及论文 (18学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

DATZ07

毕业设计

6

DATZ10

论文

12

 

 


科目简介

设计研究方法高阶 (3学分)

讲授高阶质性研究方法的西方经典理论、主要研究取向和具体研究方法及文本建构与文本分析应用。瞭解质性研究方法的驱势、进阶方法论、熟悉质性研究方法的研究流程、掌握质性研究具体的调查、分析和文本建构的高阶方法操作,特别是建筑学的质性研究特点。

建筑学专题(3学分)

课程内容包括城乡规划-都市之功能与结构;宜居城市研究专题;亚洲城市的全球化;社区营造-理论、方法与批评;都市更新与再生;都市休闲与观光专题;空间计画体制及法令等。

都市与建筑发展史(3学分)

城市与建筑发展史著重从建筑史和人文科学的角度系统地讲授建筑与城市的起源和发展,内容包括:史前的建筑与城市、城市在美索不达米亚的诞生、古埃及建筑与城市、古希腊-罗马城市、中世纪的基督教、巴洛克时期建筑与商业城市、近代和现代工业建筑与城市。从政治、经济、文化、宗教、社会、城市规划等多方面综合地研究建筑与城市发展史,并对今后城市发展提出战略性意见。

建筑可持续设计专题 (3学分)

熟悉可持续环境的核心价值;介绍新近可持续建筑的设计;深入思考人类生命繁衍与环境的根本关联。

当代建筑绿色设计与方法研究 (3学分)

本课程主要是从绿色建筑、绿色建材、可持续设计的概念出发,辅以通用设计、无障碍空间设计、人体工学与估价的基础理论建构,透过学理的说明、案例的介绍、课堂议题讨论,引导学生对于建筑大环境与微环境变迁及可持续城市环境建构有深层的认识与兴趣。从「绿色」与「可持续」的概念出发,建构资材再利用、回复建筑创造本质等新概念。

建筑与文化遗产保护研究 (3学分)

保存古迹的目的在揭示先民生活的历程以及艺术、文化与科技的成就,以鉴古知今,然而受到自然与人为因素的影响与破坏,古蹟的生命周期常较预期的更为短暂。为使古蹟能达到长期保存的目的,对于可能持续破坏甚而使之消逝的病变与危机便须借重人们的智慧,以科学的方法在最小的干预下,使之得以化危机为转机。古蹟修复便是为了使古蹟得以可持续经营所採取的诊疗与复健行为,以适应不同的物理条件及多样的活动,进而与现代生活同步、与现代环境共生。本课程主要透过修复实例的引徵,使同学从务实面探讨问题的存在与破解的方法,配合国内外的案例与比较,期使在短时间内能确立一套古蹟保存与维护的完整理念。

产业发展规划与设计理论研究 (3学分)

本课程并不定位于探讨如何规划和经营文化创意产业,而是关注以下课题:(1)如何藉由掌握更广泛的社会脉络(文化经济、文化治理、社会与文化转型。简言之,全球竞争与经济危机下资本积累之文化策略的崛起),来理解和分析文化创意产业的浮现和定位;(2)文化创意产业如何构成与运作(文化劳动或工作的特质、核心元素、组织特性等);(3)文化创意产业与城市和地方发展的关係。

学术专题项目 (1学分)

学生必须参与至少十次由学院认可的学术活动,如学校组织的讲座、研讨会、参观等。每次活动后,学生需提交一页纸(A4)长度的活动报告,并由指定导师批阅。该科目旨在培养学生的综合素质,开拓他们的学术视野,并培养他们的创新思维。

专业实习 (6学分)

实习课程旨在提高教学质量,培养学生的实践能力与创新精神,使在校学生得以提前进入社会实践领域,增强对所学知识、专业知识的理解,培养和提高学生自主发现、分析和解决问题的实践技能。

毕业设计 (6学分)

本科目是一门理论指导实践的科目,是让学生综合运用在校所学的理论知识,在理论层面的基础上设计并完成课题,是一次系统、全面的设计课题综合训练。

论文 (12学分)

学生必须提交博士学位论文(不少于四万字,不包括注脚、章节附注和参考文献),并进行学位论文答辩。学生必须遵照大学关于博士学位论文的格式要求来撰写。

学习要求

第一、二学期修读完成学习计划规定的表(一)中的2门基础必修科目和表(二)中的1门专业必修科目、表(三)中的1门选修科目,共计12学分。 修读完成学习计划规定的表(四)中的学术专题项目(须参加不少于10次学术活动)、专业实习,以及表(五)中的毕业设计,共计13学分。 撰写一篇符合学校要求且不少于4万字的原创论文并进行论文答辩,博士学位论文必须通过评审及论文答辩,获得12学分。 学生在每门科目上课结束后,须进行考核,考核按授课老师及学院的规定方式进行。 修毕表(一)、表(二)及表(三)规定科目并且获得学分的学生,需撰写开题报告并完成开题答辩。完成开题答辩后, 学生即可开始撰写博士学位论文,并同时进入毕业设计创作期。 学生在修读博士学位期间必须发表一项学院认可的一级论著或建筑设计作品,或两项学院认可的二级论著或建筑设计作品。详情请参阅《澳门科技大学人文艺术学院关于博士生论著与作品评鉴的补充说明》。

学习时间

科目修读时间为12个月,论文、毕业设计时间一般为12个月,最长为24个月。 课堂一般安排在星期一至星期五的日间、晚间或周末上课。

毕业资格

学生须符合下列各项规定,并经大学学术及教学委员会通过可获颁发博士学位: 在所属课程之修业期内完成及通过学习计划的要求,各科目成绩(不含学位论文成绩)累计平均积点不低于2.50*; 遵守大学的修读守则; 缴清指定费用及归还所借的大学财物。 备注:所有课程大纲及学习计划,按澳门特别行政区公报所载为准。