Doctor of Philosophy in Digital Media

Program introduction

  • Duration of study

    The normal duration of this course is 3 year,and the maximum duration is 6 years.

  • Teaching approach

    Face-to-face Teaching

  • Teaching language

    Chinese/English

  • Academic field

    Fine Arts

  • Course Introduction

    Academic Field: Fine Arts

Study plan

This program includes five core courses and two elective courses, academic activities and a doctoral dissertation.

 

Table 1: Core Courses (15 Credits)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

DAIZ01

Research Methodology 

3

DAIZ02

Digital Media 

3

DAIZ03

Creative Media and Technology

3

DAIZ04

Principles of Interactive Design 

3

DAIZ05

Design, Technology, and Representation

3

 

 

Table 2: Elective courses (6 credits)

Complete two elective courses from the following four courses

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

DAIE01

Issues in Media Studies

3

DAIE02

Intellectual Property Policy and Law

3

DAIE03

The Computer as an Expressive Medium

3

DAIE04

Special Topics in Game Design

3

The University has the ultimate right to decide which course or whether the course will be opened for all elective subjects

 

 

Table 3: Others (1 credit)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

DAIZ06

Academic Activities

1

 

 

Table 4: Dissertation (12 credits)

Course Code

Course Title

Credits

DAIZ10

Dissertation

12

 


Course Description

DAIZ01 Research Methodology (3 credits) 

The goal of this course is to explore the essence of design research from the levels of science and philosophy, research methods, and practical operations. The content includes the definition of design research questions, the selection of appropriate quantitative or qualitative research methods and specific tools, the interpretation of research results, case analysis, and thesis writing. At the same time, students are trained to write feasible design research projects and research methods, and evaluate the feasibility and analyze the results. In order to improve the quality of writing papers.

DAIZ02 Digital Media (3 credits)

Discuss the concept and relationship between digital media and new media.  Examine their culture, society, aesthetic, politics, morality, law, and economic influence. According to different media, students are trained to create new thought patterns, analyze media channels. Explore how the digital has reorganized media operation.

DAIZ03 Creative Media and Technology (3 credits)

This course takes creativity as the core and technology as the means. It discusses how creativity uses design, media and technology for integrated application and research development. The concept of value-added design allows students to understand various research topic orientations, as well as the discussion and creation applied to various design levels. Learn how to use digital media technology to achieve creative expression in media.

DAIZ04 Principles of Interactive Design (3 credits)

This course is based on the theory of interactive design and the principle of practice orientation. Students can combine academic theories with industry practices to enrich their comprehensive understanding of interactive design.

DAIZ05 Design, Technology and Representation (3 credits)

This course introduces the existing interactive technology, introduces real-time images, real-time audio, physical devices, and related performance technologies (such as lighting control, various sensor applications, etc.) and application practices, and uses graphical, object-oriented programming systems. Through the graphics and object-oriented programming system, it guides and assists related visual and programming designers to explore, and integrate interactive system design in a more efficient way, so as to achieve the integration of interactive installations, performance technology, and performing arts.  

DAIE01 Issues in Media Studies (3 credits)

Use relevant theories to explore the historical roots of current important media issues, and then analyze, comment and compare different solutions to these issues. Students can develop the cognition and ability to enrich media literacy and participate in social/media revolution. They can also understand the operating environment of domestic and foreign media and grasp the value of media research.

DAIE02 Intellectual Property Policy and Law (3 credits)

In-depth discussion on how to regulate and establish intellectual property rights in digital content industries such as the digital game industry, computer animation industry, digital audio-visual application industry, digital publishing and collection industry, mobile application service industry, and network service industry. And students can understand how the law protects personal intellectual property, and the relationship between law and intellectual property.

DAIE03 The Computer as an Expressive Medium (3 credits)

Through the introduction of computer programs and digital media languages, students will have a deeper understanding of the nature, theory and practice of computer media communication. Explore how people interact and communicate in a computer environment connected to the Internet, and how to create an interactive environment of computer technology to facilitate contact, interaction and cooperation. Understand and study the characteristics of computer media, and conduct in-depth research and discussion on the characteristics of computer media communication, computer media display, and computer interaction.

DAIE04 Special Topics in Game Design (3 credits)

This course introduces advanced design theory in game design. Teaching logic theory knowledge in game design. Explain the game design: numerical tendency, numerical concept, intuitive feedback of virtualization, psychological characteristics of sensory extension, etc. On the other hand, through specific examples to explain the relevance between core degree, openness degree, freedom degree, competitive and other statistical data and game design.

DAIZ06 Academic Activities (1 credit)

Students are required to participate in at least ten academic activities that are recognized by the Faculty of Humanities and Arts, such as the famous scholars’ seminars held on campus. Students must complete each academic activity and write academic report not less than 1,000 words.

Degree requirements

1.Students are required to complete five core courses from Table 1 and two elective courses from Table 2 during the first academic year to gain 21 credits. After finishing each course, students have to pass the examination or finish a study report. The students’ grades of each course are based on the overall assessment of them in-class discussion, grades of examination and reports, etc. 2.Students need to participate academic activities (ten times of attendance) during their studies to gain 1 credit, and students should write academic report not less than 1,000 words for each academic activity. 3.Students should write the thesis proposal and complete the thesis proposal defense after completion of the aforementioned 21 credits under Table 1 and 2. Students can continue their research and thesis writing after completing the defense. 4.Students have to publish at least one first-level academic paper, or two second-level academic papers in the approbatory academic journal. Then, they can attain the arrangement to carry on the oral defense. 5.The PhD dissertation should pass the assessment and be defended successfully.

Learning time

The course takes 12 months, and the thesis writing time is usually 12 months, with a maximum of 24 months. Classes are usually held during the day and at night from Monday to Saturday.

Qualifications of graduation

A doctoral degree shall be awarded to a student who meets the following requirements and is approved by the Academic and Teaching Committee of the University: Complete and pass the requirements of the study plan during the study period of the corresponding course, and the cumulative average point of each course (excluding the dissertation score) shall not be less than 2.50; Observe the University code of study; Pay specified fees and return borrowed University property.

数字媒体博士

课程简介

  • 课程期限

    本课程正常修业期限为3,最长修业期限为6年。

  • 授课方式

    面授课程

  • 授课语言

    中文/英文

  • 学术领域 / 知识范畴

    艺术学

  • 课程介绍

    学术领域/知识范畴:艺术学

学习计划

本课程的修业要求包括完成5门必修科目、2门选修科目、学术专题项目,以及博士学位论文。

 

():必修科目 (15学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

DAIZ01

研究方法 

3

DAIZ02

数字媒体和新媒体 

3

DAIZ03

创意媒体与技术

3

DAIZ04

互动设计的原则 

3

DAIZ05

设计、技术与展现

3

 

 

():专业选修科目(修读其中2个科目,共6学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

DAIE01

媒体研究相关问题

3

DAIE02

知识产权政策与法律

3

DAIE03

电脑媒介

3

DAIE04

游戏设计专题

3

注:大学有权取消开办修读人数不足之专业范畴科目。

 

 

():其它学术科目 (1学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

DAIZ06

学术专题项目

1

 

 

():学位论文 (12学分)

科目编号

科目名称

学分

DAIZ10

论文

12

 


科目简介

DAIZ01研究方法 (3学分)

本课程之目标在于从科学与哲学层次、研究方法层次、与实际操作层次探讨设计研究的本质,内容包括界定设计研究问题、选用适当的量化或质性研究方法与特定工具、研究结果诠释、案例解析、以及论文写作等。同时培养与训练学生编写可行的设计研究项目与研究方法,并评估其实施的可行性与分析总结结果。

DAIZ02数字媒体和新媒体(3学分)

比较数字媒体和新媒体之间的差异,并检视它们的文化、社会、美学、政治、道德、法律和经济的影响力。针对不同媒体的面向与功能训练学生创造新的思考模式,分析媒体机构和渠道,并探索数字时代如何改变了媒体组织的运作方式。

DAIZ03创意媒体与技术(3学分)

以创意为中心,技术面向为主体,探讨创意如何运用设计、媒体与技术进行整合应用及研究发展。由加值设计的概念,让学生了解各种不同的研究议题取向以及应用于各种设计层面之探讨与创作。

DAIZ04互动设计的原则(3学分)

本课程以互动设计的理论为基础,实务导向为原则,使学生能将学术界的理论与产业界的实务加以结合以充实对于互动设计具有全面性的了解。

DAIZ05设计、技术与展现(3学分)

本课程将现有交互科技技术进行阐述,介绍整合即时影像、即时音讯、实体装置、及相关表演科技(如灯光控制、各类感应器应用等)之技术与应用实务,并借由图形化、物件导向程式设计系统,引导与辅助相关视觉与程式设计师进行探究,以更有效率的方式进行整合互动系统设计,借以达成互动装置、表演科技、与表演艺术之整合。

DAIE01媒体研究相关问题(3学分)

运用相关理论探索当前重要传媒议题的历史根源,进而分析、评论与比较这些问题的不同方案。学生可以培养丰富媒体素养、参与社会/媒体兴革的认知与能力,并在了解国内外传媒及其运作环境,掌握媒体研究的价值。

DAIE02知识产权政策与法律(3学分)

深入探讨数位游戏产业、电脑动画产业、数位影音应用产业、数位出版典藏产业、行动应用服务产业、网路服务产业等数位内容产业如何规范与建立知识产权,并了解法律如何保护个人智慧财产和两者之间的关联性。

DAIE03电脑媒介(3学分)

透过电脑程式与相关数字媒体语言的介绍与探究,让学生对于电脑媒介传播的本质、理论和实务有更深入的认识。重点在探讨人们如何在连结网路的电脑环境中互动和通讯,还有如何营造电脑科技的互动环境以利联系互动和合作。

DAIE04游戏设计专题(3学分)

本课程主要在于介绍游戏发展理论以及游戏创作美学理论,讲解如何涵养游戏美学与获得数位游戏媒材设计知识。另一方面,了解游戏产业的策画流程,借由讲解、讨论、观摩、实务设计与专题研究进行最后报告展示。

DAIZ06学术专题项目(1学分)

学生必须参与至少十次由学院认可的学术活动,如学院组织的学术讲座。学生每次需完成并提交不少于1000字的活动报告并由导师批阅。

学习要求

1.第一学年修读完成表(一)及表(二)中的授课科目,共计21学分。每门科目结束后学生必须通过考试或提交一篇专题研究报告。学生的各科成绩根据课堂讨论、考试成绩、专题报告等综合评定。 2.学生在修业期内,须完成学术专题项目,计1学分。该项目要求学生参加至少十次学术活动(如讲座、研讨会等),每次活动撰写不少于1000字的报告。 3.学生在完成表(一)和表(二)规定的7个科目,取得21学分后,须撰写论文开题报告,并完成开题答辩。完成开题答辩后,方可继续博士论文的研究和写作。 4.学生在提交学位论文之前,须发表学院认可的一级成果一项,或二级成果两项。 5.博士学位论文必须通过评审及论文答辩。

学习时间

科目修读时间为12个月,论文写作时间一般为12个月,最长为24个月。课堂一般安排在星期一至星期六的日间及夜间上课。

毕业资格

学生须符合下列各项规定,并经大学学术及教学委员会通过可获颁发博士学位: 1.在所属课程之修业期内完成及通过学习计划的要求,各科目成绩(不含学位论文成绩)累计平均积点不低于2.50; 2.遵守大学的修读守则; 3.缴清指定费用及归还所借的大学财物。 备注:所有课程大纲及学习计划,按澳门特别行政区公报所载为准。